Our Network Marketing Journey – Our First Encounter

I had been juggling projects in my various roles as freelance writer, research consultant, university instructor and artist for a number of years.  As a result, I was overworking and I began to burn out.  I turned to a career counsellor for help in sorting out my career path.  I knew that since I love my freedom, I therefore do not do well as an employee and was exploring options as to how I could continue to work for myself, while at the same time live a more balanced life and make a good living.  I truly believed that it must be possible. I just didn’t know how.

Interestingly, at that time, we were introduced by my mother and her partner to a company that developed products using advanced wellness technologies.  They thought, given my life partner Jim’s and my passion for alternative and complementary wellness approaches and our desire to find other sources of income, we might be interested.  They were right. This company marketed these products through a network marketing business model, which meant there was a business offering available.   At first we were both excited. However, when we realized that the business obviously involved sales and marketing, I resisted.  Then I reminded myself that I was currently looking for options and that I probably shouldn’t be so quick to “look at gift horse in the mouth,” as my mother always told me as a child.  So I decided to take a closer look.

I flew down to the company headquarters in Southern California to do my due diligence.  I took in a business training, began to have some experiences with the products, met people involved with the company as well as those who are marketing the product. I came away impressed, inspired and eager to start our journey.  That was 23 ½ years ago.

This is part of a series, Our Network Marketing Journey: https://businessintegrity.wordpress.com/blogs-2/our-network-marketing-journey/

This entry was posted in Network Marketing, Our Journey and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Our Network Marketing Journey – Our First Encounter

Leave a Reply

